IMG_0144Gavin Johnson, Development Manager for Cooper Tire Europe’s Avon Tyres Motorsport department in Melksham, UK, has won the prestigious Lone Star JR Johnny Rutherford Award presented by Pennzoil, Mazda and IndyCar Ministry. Created to honor the IndyCar participant who best exemplifies outstanding character, integrity and service, Johnson was awarded with a custom trophy and a $1,000 check.

Johnson’s name will be permanently engraved on the main trophy that resides in the Indianapolis Motor Speedway (IMS) museum, next to Johnny Rutherford’s Pennzoil yellow submarine – the nickname given to Rutherford’s bright yellow car that won the Indianapolis 500 for the first time in 1980.