Who We Are


IndyCar Ministry began when IndyCar (formerly Indy Racing league) was founded in 1996, and we are dedicated servants providing spiritual support and counseling to IndyCar Series and IndyCar’s Road to Indy drivers, teams, officials and staff both on and off the track. We support the paddock with prayers and encouragement as well as support in time of crisis.


IndyCar Ministry is a 501(c)3 not-for-profit, non-denominational organization, and we are blessed to be supported by the donations we receive from the racing community and our great partners. (Our financial records are available for review at any time by contacting our office. We desire to be good stewards of the blessings we are given.)


Chuck Lessick


Chuck began his racing career as an owner/driver in what is now the USF2000 series, worked as lead mechanic in Indy Lights & F2000, was a race team manager, and currently owns his own small business with his wife Jacqui. Chuck brings a wide variety of experience to the table, but his most powerful experience is the radical change of focus he has had since he began to passionately follow Christ in 2013.

Chuck believes the gospel message of grace is for everyone, not to be left in the church on Sunday, but pursued through our everyday lives and relationships. He is an enthusiastic volunteer both at his local church (Traders Point Christian Church in Whitestown, IN) as well as other Christian organizations such as the 4th Musketeer. Chuck enjoys speaking to others about his faith journey, as well as encouraging others in their walk with God.


Chaplain / Ministry Director

Jason was immersed in racing as a driver, an owner, and a fabricator throughout his entire life. In 2010, he would have a radical encounter with Jesus that would change everything. After over 30 years in motorsports 24 of which behind the wheel, he would step out of racing all together to begin the new adventure of becoming a full time Pastor.

Although leaving racing professionally, it never left the core of his being. In 2016, while supporting IndyCar ministry as a volunteer, God would transition him into the role as a Chaplain. A role where God utilizes his experience in racing and passion for Jesus, to minister in a world desperate to experience the love of Christ. Change would be constant as of 2023 Jason would assume the role of Ministry Director and he seeks to grow the IndyCar Ministry to the next level.

While at home in Ormond Beach, Fl. , you can find him out in the water on his surfboard or on the beach with his wife Kelly, at the kart track with Gideon, or trying to keep up with his 2 year old son Zion..

Matthew Welty

Executive Director

Matt has been a lifelong resident of Indianapolis and a lifelong fan of the Indianapolis 500. Matt was blessed to have been raised in a Christ centered home and at the age of 8 made a personal decision to place his trust in Jesus and to become a Christ follower. After graduating from college, Matt began a career in the door hardware/security industry where he has worked for the past 39 years. Currently, Matt is the General Manager of the Americas for Codelocks.

About 8 years ago, Matt became aware of IndyCar Ministry as a member of the steering committee of one of the ministry events that was being held. Having an opportunity to merge his first love (Christ) with his love of racing lead Matt to become involved with the ministry which lead him to eventually becoming a member of the ministry board.

Matt is passionate about taking the gospel of Christ in tangible ways to the many men and women involved with IndyCar and especially enjoys leading one of the Winners Circle groups with members of one of the teams. Matt counts it a privilege to be able to work alongside Chuck and Jason in bringing Christ’s love to this community.


In 2103 we created the “Lone Star Johnny Rutherford Award” to honor a person in the INDYCAR paddock who best exemplifies outstanding character, integrity and service in the home, at the track and in the community. We named this award after Johnny Rutherford, three-time winner of the famed Indianapolis 500 and an individual of great character who has served his family and community faithfully throughout the years, as well as a role model for drivers and business leaders alike. Past winner include Joe Barbieri (Firestone Racing,) Wayne Selman (Sarah Fisher Racing), Grant Weaver, Gavin Johnson, Denise Titus and more to come!


Matthew Welty

Vice President, FR International

Michelle Kish

COO, Anderson Promotions, LLC

Kyle Froman

Chaplains Collective

Al Wurster

CEO, Wurster Construction

Denise Titus

Registered Nurse and IndyCar Medical Liaison/Coordinator

Bryan Jennings

Pastor Liberty Church St. Pete

Future Board Member